Myanmar E-Visa

Since 2014, Myanmar’s Government started launching e-Visa for tourism and business purposes. In the present, there are 100 countries eligible to apply for e-Visa via a website. Myanmar E-Visa is applied for tourists entering its via land borders and airports, but not seaports.


Myanmar Visa on Arrival is only granted for passport holders from Italy, Spain, Australia, Switzerland, Germany, Russia, Hong Kong, Macau and China at Yangon International Airport, Mandalay International Airport and Nay Pyi Taw International Airport.

The policy will remain effective for one year from 1st October 2019. Tourists will have to pay $US50 for visa fee and receive the maximum of staying of 30 days from the date of entry. To be noted that, this kind of visa cannot be extended and can only be used for the purpose of tourism.

From 1st Jan 2020, passport holders from Austria, Hungary, New Zealand, Czech and Luxembourg can also apply for Myamar Visa On Arrival for 3 - year probation period.

Tourists from South Korea and Japan are allowed to enter Myanmar WITHOUT visa fee from Oct 1st 2018 (1 year trial). 

» For travellers from other countries, please see the detailed instructions of Myanmar River Cruises below to get your Myanmar E-visa:

1. Requirements before Applying for Myanmar E-Visa 

  • Passport validity must be valid for 6 months from arriving into Myanmar.
  • A Myanmar visa photo has size 4.8 cm x 3.8 which must be taken in the past 3 months.
  • Visa, Master Visa, Master, American Express or JCB credit cards are accepted for the payment.

2. Steps to get Myanmar E-visa

  •  Fill in the Secure Online E - Visa Form 

All of the required information need to be filled in the online form on the government official website:


myanmar e-visa

  • Confirm and Pay

After filling in the form, tourists have to recheck the information and continue with the payment online. 

  •  Get Approval Letter within 3 Days

Myanmar e-visa processing time last within 3 working days and then approval letter will be sent to applicant’s email. Tourists need to print out this approval letter along with the passport and present both of them upon arrival. Due date of the approval letter is 90 days. 

  • Get Visa Stamped upon Arrival

At Myanmar Immigration checkpoint, you need to present the passport and approval letter, customs officer will stamp visa on your passport. Each e - Visa is only valid for single entry which lasts for 28 days, a re-entry requires a new visa. 

3. Ports Permitted to Enter with  Myanmar E - Visa

  • Yangon International Airport
  • Mandalay International Airport
  • Nay Pyi Taw International Airport
  • Tachileik Land Border Checkpoint
  • Myawaddy Land Border Checkpoint
  • Kawthaung Land Border Checkpoint

4. Visa Exemption 

Passport holder from these following countries are given visa exemption for International Airports only

No. Country   Exemption Period 
1 Brunei  14 days
2 Cambodia 14 days
3 Indonesia  14 days
4 Laos 14 days
5 Philippines  14 days
6 Thailand 14 days
7 Singapore 30 days
8 Vietnam 14 days

5. Eligible Countries

Passport holder from the following countries and Taiwan are eligible to apply Tourist e-Visa

No. Country No. Country 
1 Albania  51 Kenya
2 Algeria 52 Korea, DPR
3 Argentina  53 Korea, Republic
Australia 54  Kuwait
Austria 55  Kyrgyzstan
Bangladesh 56  Laos
7 Belarus 57 Latvia
8 Belgium 58 Lithuania
9 Bhutan 59 Luxembourg
10 Bolivia 60 Malaysia
11 Bosnia 61 Maldive
12  Brazil 62  Malta
13 Brunei 63 Mauritius
14  Bulgaria 64  Mexico
15 Cambodia 65 Monaco
16 Cameroon 66 Mongolia
17 Canada 67 Morocco
18 Chile 68 Nepal
19 China 69 Netherlands
20 Colombia 70 New Zeland
21 Costa Rica 71 Norway
22 Côte d’Ivoire 72 Pakistan
23 Croatia 73 Panama
24 Cyprus 74 Peru
25  Czech 75  Philippines
26 Denmark 76 Poland
27 Ecuador 77 Portugal
28 Egypt 78 Qatar
29 Eritrea 79 Romania
30 Estonia 80 Russia
31 Fiji 81 Saudi Arabia
32 Finland 82 Serbia
33 France 83 Singapore
34 Georgia 84 Slovakia
35 Germany 85 Slovenia
36 Ghana 86 South Africa
37 Greece 87 Spain
38 Guatemala 88 Sri Lanka
39 Guinea 89 Sweden
40 Hungary 90 Switzerland
41 Iceland 91 Thailand
42 India 92 Turkey
43 Indonesia 93 Uganda
44 Ireland 94 Ukraine
45 Israel 95 United Kingdom
46 Italy 96 United States of America
47 Jamaica 97 Uruguay
48 Japan 98 Uzbekistan
49 Jordan 99 Venezuela 
50 Kazakhstan  100 Viet Nam

NOTE: It is possible to overstay a Visa. However, overstaying fee will be charged US $3 per day plus $3 registration fee as you exit the country via airports or land borders.  At the international airports, you’ll see a sign for Immigration Over Stay where you’ll pay the additional fee for overstaying Myanmar visa. They will put an overstay stamp permitting you to extend the stay.

» Check out Myanmar tourist guides for more useful info and experts' tips.

Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest

Let us help you find your suitable cruise

Could not find a suitable cruise in Myanmar? Just tell us your travel plan: departure date, favourite cruise itinerary, number of pax, budget and your special request (if any) and we will reply to you within 1-12 hours with the best option of cruise.